Fines and Fees
Long overdue (“lost”) Materials
Library materials that are long overdue (more than 27 days overdue) are considered “lost”, and accrue a $95 replacement fee per item, along with a $15 non-refundable late return fee per item. Babbidge Library Leisure Reading materials accrue a $30 replacement fee. The $95 replacement cost is refundable, if the item is returned within two years of the billing date and is in good condition.
Overdue Recalled Materials
$5 per day fine, up to a maximum of $50. Most items from the general circulating collections are recallable by another borrower. If a recall notice is received by you, the item must be returned by the new date specified in the notice.
Daily/hourly overdue fines:
Media (VHS/DVD): $1 per day; maximum of $15
Digital audio recorders, digital cameras, digital video cameras, tripod: $1 per day; maximum of $15
Laptops, iPads, DVD players, cassette/CD players, MacBook chargers, headphones, individual study carrel keys: $1 per hour; maximum of $15
Reserve items (print and non-print):
- Hourly loans – $1 per hour; maximum of $15
- Day loans – $1 per day; maximum of $15
Long overdue Library equipment is billed at replacement cost, ranging from $30 for headphones to $1500 for laptops. Failure to return library equipment on time can result in the suspension of equipment borrowing privileges.
Use the Fine Appeal Form to question any library fines or fees. State your reasons, including any extenuating circumstances if applicable, that prevented you from returning library materials on time. The information you provide will help us reach a decision that is fair to you and other users of the library collection.
Access Services staff will review the Fine Appeal Form, and you will be notified via email as to the status of the charges. If you are affiliated with UConn, you will be notified via your official UConn email address. Incomplete information will suspend the processing of the Fine Appeal Form.
You may mail, email, fax or hand-deliver the completed form. (For delivery information – See Fine Appeal Form)
Payment of Charges
For students, bills for library charges are issued by and paid at the University Bursar’s Office (Wilbur Cross Building, Unit 4100, (860) 486-4830). Payments may be made in person during regular business hours or by mail. Checks are payable to the University of Connecticut Bursar.
For faculty, staff, and community borrowers, bills are issued by the Accounts Receivable Office located in the Wilbur Cross Building, Unit 4100, (860) 486-5995 and either paid at the Cash Operations window or by forwarding a check to the following address:
University of Connecticut
Office of the Bursar
233 Glenbrook Road, Unit 4231
Storrs, CT 06269-4231
No payments are accepted at the library. Library charges for students appear on the next semester’s fee bill.
Charges must be paid in full before student registration is permitted and official transcripts can be issued.
For questions about library charges, please contact the circulation desk at your home campus library:
Homer Babbidge Library (Storrs): (860) 486-2518
Music and Dramatic Arts (Storrs): (860) 486-2502
Pharmacy (Storrs): (860) 486-2218
Avery Point: (860) 405-9146
Greater Hartford: (860) 570-9024
Stamford: (203) 251-8500
Torrington: (860) 626-6820
Waterbury: (203) 236-9900
For inquiries via e-mail, please contact firstname.lastname@example.org