Database Survey

Academic Universe (LexisNexis Academic) Provides access to the full text of thousands of publications, including national and international newspapers, popular and general-interest magazines, economics and trade journals, company financial reports, legal cases and law journals.

AccessMedicine Full text of the Lange series of basic science and clinical reference texts and resources like Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine and Hurst’s The Heart.

Acland: Head & Neck Acland’s Video of Human Anatomy features fresh human specimens in their natural colors in real movement with clear narration and labeled structures, allowing users to build complex structures step-by-step. The content can be searched by anatomical regions and parts, as well as by the A-Z index.

---

Cardiosource Plus (One-time registration needed. Users must log in to have full access to Cardiosource Plus.) Cardiosource Plus is an educational resource from American College of Cardiology that covers cardiac information and the clinical trials database with downloadable summary slides, a clinical images database with over 6000 images in still and motion video formats, customizable patient handouts, Heart Songs, an online drug database (ePocrates), and award-winning Self-Assessment Programs.

Chemical Abstracts (SciFinder Scholar) Requires NetID logon. Information about NetID. Access to the full Chemical Abstracts database from 1947 to current, including nearly 20 million citations to the literature of chemistry, as well as compound information including structure, chemical names, formulas, Registry Numbers and reaction information.

CINAHL with Full Text (EBSCOhost) An index to nursing and allied health journals. Includes citations, abstracts and some full text. CINAHL with Full Text offers as full text up to 585 titles, 154 of which have current issues embargoed from 1 to 18 months.

Cochrane Library (Wiley) Provides reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Published on a quarterly basis, it is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care. It includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews (Methodology Register), Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA), and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED).

Connecticut Digital Library (iCONN) A core level of information resources including secured access to licensed databases is available to every citizen in Connecticut.

ConsumerLab Leading provider of independent test results and information to help consumers and healthcare professionals evaluate health, wellness, and nutrition products.

---

Dissertation Abstracts (ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text) With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master’s theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master’s theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.

DynaMed Plus Clinicians can view the Overviews & Recommendations section of DynaMed Plus topics to get a quick summary of the topic and recommended actions based on the most current evidence. Clinicians can easily see the levels of evidence and guidelines behind each recommendation. http://www.dynamed.com/home/features/overviews-and-recommendations

---

Elsevier Consumer Health Library Consumer-focused Health Library designed to engage patients by facilitating access to accurate, timely, easy-to-understand content on thousands of healthcare topics and issues.

ERIC (EBSCOhost) Indexes scholarly journals and magazines in all areas of education, from early intervention (birth to age three), preschool, K-12 (public and private), and higher education. Includes bilingual, special, gifted, and computer education. 1966 to present.

Essential Evidence Plus (Formerly InfoRetriever) Collection of evidence and reference materials including the InfoPOEMs database, Cochrane Abstracts and other clinical decision rules and support tools and clinical guidelines.

---

IngentaConnect (Formerly UNCOVER) Database of 11 million citations in 20,000 publications, and the full text of more than 5,400 publications.

---

Journal Citation Reports Provides quantitative measures for ranking, evaluating, categorizing, and comparing journals – including the impact factor, a bibliometric measurement of a journal’s importance to a field.

JSTOR Digitized backfiles of core scholarly journals in the academic fields, beginning with the first issue up to a ‘moving wall’ of 2 to 5 years. Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

---

LexiComp LexiComp Online provides quick access to drug information. For mobile device access, click the Mobile App Access button on the right side of the Lexicomp Online home page. Quick Reference Guide.

LexisNexis (Replaces Westlaw) Westlaw is no longer available. Use LexisNexis for general, legal, news, business and people information. Newspapers, popular and general-interest magazines, economics and trade journals, company financial reports, legal cases and law journals.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts(EBSCOhost, Formerly Library Literature) This database indexes articles and book reviews from key library and information science periodicals. Created by librarians for librarians. Contents include more than 600 indexed core journals, 120 indexed selective and priority journals and coverage dating back to 1960.

---

Medical Letter The Medical Letter, Inc. is a nonprofit organization that publishes critical appraisals of new prescription drugs and comparative reviews of drugs for common diseases in its newsletter.

MedlinePlus Extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 1000 diseases and conditions. There are directories, a medical encyclopedia, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, and links to thousands of clinical trials. MedlinePlus is updated daily.

Micromedex (Internet Version) Full text drug information. Includes the following: AAPCC Codes in POISINDEX; Alternative Medicine; DISEASEDEX™ Emergency Medicine; DISEASEDEX™ General Medicine; DRUGDEX System; Imprint Codes in Identidex; Interaction Checking; IV Compatibility; Lab Advisor; MARTINDALE; P&T QUIK Reports; PDR^®; POINSINDEX System; RED BOOK; REPRORISK System; TOMES System; Calculators; mobileMicromedex; CareNotes; Formulary; NeoFax; Pediatrics.

---

Natural Medicines Combined with Natural Standard, Natural Medicines provides the largest repository of clinically referenced information available on natural medicines and supplements. It includes the following databases: Food, Herbs & Supplements; Health & Wellness; Sports Medicine; Comparative Effectiveness; Manufacturers; Commercial Products.

Netter Reference Limited to UConn Health users. Includes the following 2 textbook titles: Atlas of Human Anatomy and Netters Head and Neck Anatomy for Dentistry.

Netter Reference – Atlas of Human Anatomy Limited to UConn Health users.

Netter Reference – Head and Neck Anatomy for Dentistry Limited to UConn Health users.

---

OvidSP (Formerly Ovid Online with Medline, Full Text Journals, HAPI, etc.) Includes Medline, Full text e-journals and Health and Psychosocial Instruments. Ovid Training and Tutorials

---

Pivot Search engine for grant funding opportunities that allows researchers to identify a wide array of potential funding opportunities for research, travel, fellowships and training. One can also receive funding opportunity alerts based on a personal research profile as well as identify potential collaborators within UConn and at other universities.

POPLINE (website to retire on September 1, 2019) Transition information. Consists of bibliographic citations and abstracts to a variety of materials including journal articles and other scientific, technical, and programmatic publications as well as unpublished documents and project reports (gray literature). Information on population and family planning, specifically research in contraceptive methods, family planning services, research in human fertility, maternal and child health, HIV/AIDS in developing countries, program operations and evaluation, demography, and other related health, law, and policy issues.

Population Index Population Index, published between 1937 and 1999, was the primary reference tool to the world’s population literature. It presented an annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics. This website provides a searchable and browsable database containing 46,035 abstracts of demographic literature published in Population Index in the period 1986-2000. The complete journal collection going back to the 1930s is available in JSTOR.

Principles of Clinical Medicine and Clinical Skills Assessment A series of video clips to help medical students, other healthcare professionals, and patient/instructors to learn and model some of the most common, basic and at the same time fundamental clinical skills.

PsycARTICLES (Full Text Database) The APA full text articles database contains the full-text articles from over 40 APA journals and others, mostly from 1988 to present.

PsychiatryOnline Features the DSM-IV-TR^® and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references, including books, journals, and self-assessment tools. It features sophisticated searching and indexing tools that enable users to quickly target all the information needed. Online collection of publications available in print.

PsycINFO (EBSCOhost) Citations and abstracts from 1,300 journals covering professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines. Made possible through ICONN.

PubMed (Medline, Premedline, and HealthSTAR) An index to 4,000 medical journals. Includes citations, abstracts and some full text. Includes links to articles in 957 full text electronic journals. This link provides access to UConn Health subscribed full texts.

---

R2 Digital Library Fully integrated and searchable medical, nursing and allied health source book content from key health science publishers, on a web based platform.
Note: Remote access to the R2 Library requires UCONN users to set up a personal account by creating an individual user name and password.

RefWorks RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management program which allows you to create a personal database of citations from journal articles, books, book chapters or other sources. It can automatically generate a bibliography (works cited page) in the various writing styles such as APA or MLA.

ResearchIT CT (Formerly iCONN) ResearchIT CT offers free online resources as a service of the CT State Library. Find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles for Connecticut public, K12, and academic libraries and their users. A collection of downloadable eAudios and eBooks for Connecticut residents with a valid CT public library card.

---

SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts) Requires NetID logon. Information about NetID. Access to the full Chemical Abstracts database from 1947 to current, including nearly 20 million citations to the literature of chemistry, as well as compound information including structure, chemical names, formulas, Registry Numbers and reaction information.

Scopus World’s largest journal indexing and abstracting database with 27 million records covering articles from 14,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 international publishers.

Symptom Checker (WebMD) Enter symptoms and other relevant information, including medical history and medications and the Symptom Checker generates a list of potential conditions that are ordered and rated based on the strength of the correlation between the particular condition and the information provided by the user.

---

Trip Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

---

Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory Contains all titles in the Ulrich’s database and reviews from Magazines for Libraries and Library Journal. Contains search and browse indexes, such as language and frequency. In addition, ulrichsweb.com links users to related serials for alternate titles.

UpToDate Limited to UConn Health users. Synthesized clinical reference from over 270 journals giving current answers to patient care questions. Off-Campus use available Tip Sheet

---

VisualDX Access to more than 20,000 medical images with concise specialist-developed clinical information, in areas of medicine such as dermatologic, infectious, and drug-induced diseases. Mobile version available.

---

WorldCat The world’s most comprehensive bibliography, with 40 million bibliographic records representing 400 languages. Covers information back to the 11th Century. Includes holdings information from the world’s libraries.